NHTTA Updates‎ > ‎

Battle of the Bridge won by Auckland

posted Nov 27, 2012, 8:57 PM by Gina Connell   [ updated Nov 28, 2012, 5:30 PM ]

The annual Battle of the Bridge event was held on Tuesday 27th November at the Auckland Table Tennis Stadium. Auckland fielded strong teams and overcome North Harbour by a slim margin of 25-23 to take the overall cup score to a 4-4 draw.  

There were several close matches which could have gone either way with Ray Dulangon beating Ruofei Rao 13-11 and Victor Ma 12-10 both in the 5th game; Kate Wang and Hone Te Pania had a close battle with Kate taking the win 11-9 in the 5th game; Nathan Phillips had two close contests with wins over Jason Zhang 12-10 and Sameer Khedhir 11-9 in the 5th game.

This is a very popular and enjoyable event and thanks to Shane Warbrooke for organising and the food and drinks after the matches.  We will see everyone at North Harbour next year.

Pictured above Mitchell Barker (North Harbour) and Roger Rao (Auckland). Full photo album now available for viewing.

Representing Auckland:  Phillip Xiao, Roger Rao, Kevin Wu, Josh Alexandre, Victor Ma, Ruofei Rao, Alan Yang, Ivan Tam, Xioalan, Jack Zhang, Nathan Phillips, Ruskin Dantra, Kate Wang, Bob Inns, Larry McCallion, Bruce Penberthy

Representing North Harbour:  Brad Chen, Mitchell Barker, Liam Young, Bryn Lindsay, Ray Dulangon, Doug Pattinson, Kevin Fogarty, Kurt Hawkins, Bozidar Zutic, Sameer Khedhir, Momo Miura, Jason Zhang, Bill Sorby, Hone Te Pania, Ivan Jurisich, Dave Parker